2021 BET Award: Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby Lead With 7 Nominations Each

Cardi B and Drake, in the meantime, scores five nods each, whereas Anderson .Paak, Bruno Mars, Chloe X Halle and Chris Brown each collects four nominations.

Megan is up for Best Female Hip Hop Artist, Video of the Year, Album of the Year, and the Viewer’s Choice Award, while she and DaBaby will fight for Best Collaboration for their hit “Cry Baby”.

He is in contention for Best Male Hip Hop Artist, Album of the Year, and the Viewer’s Choice Award.

Meanwhile, Cardi B and Drake have five nominations each. In addition to Best Female Hip Hop Artist, Best Collaboration and Viewer’s Choice Award, the “WAP” hitmaker gets two nods for Video of the Year. The “Toosie Slide” rapper, on the other hand, collects two for Viewer’s Choice Award in addition to Best Collaboration, Best Male Hip Hop Artist and Video of the Year nods.

Hot on their heels are Anderson .Paak, Bruno Mars, Chloe x Halle and Chris Brown who each collects four nominations.

Voting for the BET Awards 2021 Viewer’s Choice Award begins next month (June 7) and the prizegiving will be held on June 27. It will be aired live from the Microsoft Theater at L.A. Live in Los Angeles.

In a statement released on Thursday, May 27, BET’s executive vice president of specials, music programming and music strategy Connie Orlando said, “We are back and excited to bring culture’s biggest night, the 2021 BET Awards, safely back to Los Angeles to celebrate this year’s incredible roster of nominees.”

“We broke ground as one of the first official award shows to move forward during the global pandemic and we are ready to take our pioneer status to the next level with the return of an audience to celebrate the best and brightest creative minds in the entertainment industry,” she continued.

2021 BET Awards Nominations:

Album of the Year:

  • “After Hours” – The Weeknd
  • “Blame It on Baby” – DaBaby
  • “Good News” – Megan Thee Stallion
  • “Heaux Tales” – Jazmine Sullivan
  • “King’s Disease” – Nas
  • “Ungodly Hour” – Chloe x Halle

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist:

  • Beyonce Knowles
  • H.E.R.
  • Jazmine Sullivan
  • Jhene Aiko
  • Summer Walker
  • SZA

Best Male R&B / Pop Artist:

  • 6lack
  • Anderson .Paak
  • Chris Brown
  • Giveon
  • Tank
  • The Weeknd

Best Female Hip Hop Artist:

  • Cardi B
  • Coi Leray
  • Doja Cat
  • Megan Thee Stallion
  • Latto
  • Saweetie

Best Male Hip Hop Artist:

  • DaBaby
  • Drake
  • J. Cole
  • Jack Harlow
  • Lil Baby
  • Pop Smoke

Best New Artist:

  • Coi Leray
  • Flo Milli
  • Giveon
  • Jack Harlow
  • Latto
  • Pooh Shiesty

Best Collaboration:

  • Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”
  • DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”
  • DJ Khaled featuring Drake – “Popstar”
  • Jack Harlow featuring DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne – “Whats Poppin (Remix)”
  • Megan Thee Stallion featuring DaBaby – “Cry Baby”
  • Pop Smoke featuring Lil Baby & DaBaby – “For the Night”

Best Group:

  • 21 Savage & Metro Boomin
  • Chloe x Halle
  • Chris Brown & Young Thug
  • City Girls
  • Migos
  • Silk Sonic

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award:

  • Bebe Winans – “In Jesus Name”
  • CeCe Winans – “Never Lost”
  • H.E.R. – “Hold Us Together”
  • Kirk Franklin – “Strong God”
  • Marvin Sapp – “Thank You for It All”
  • Tamela Mann – “Touch From You”

BET HER Award:

  • Alicia Keys featuring Khalid – “So Done”
  • Brandy featuring Chance the Rapper – “Baby Mama”
  • Bri Steves – “Anti Queen”
  • Chloe x Halle – “Baby Girl”
  • Ciara featuring Ester Dean – “Rooted”

Video of the Year:

  • Cardi B – “Up”
  • Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”
  • Chloe x Halle – “Do It”
  • Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”
  • Drake featuring Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”
  • Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”
  • SZA – “Good Days”

Video Director of the Year:

  • Benny Boom
  • Bruno Mars & Florent Dechard
  • Cole Bennett
  • Colin Tilley
  • Dave Meyers
  • Hype Williams

Best International Act:

  • Aya Nakamura (France)
  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  • Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  • Emicida (Brazil)
  • Headie One (UK)
  • Wizkid (Nigeria)
  • Young T & Bugsey (UK)
  • Youssoupha (France)

Best Movie:

  • Coming 2 America
  • Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • One Night in Miami…
  • Soul
  • The United States vs. Billie Holiday

Best Actress:

  • Andra Day
  • Angela Bassett
  • Issa Rae
  • Jurnee Smollett
  • Viola Davis
  • Zendaya Coleman

Best Actor:

  • Aldis Hodge
  • Chadwick Boseman
  • Damson Idris
  • Daniel Kaluuya
  • Eddie Murphy
  • Lakeith Stanfield

Youngstars Award:

  • Alex R. Hibbert
  • Ethan Hutchison
  • Lonnie Chavis
  • Marsai Martin
  • Michael Epps
  • Storm Reid

Sportswoman of the Year Award:

  • A’ja Wilson
  • Candace Parker
  • Claressa Shields
  • Naomi Osaka
  • Serena Williams
  • Skylar Diggins-Smith

Sportsman of the Year Award:

  • Kyrie Irving
  • LeBron James
  • Patrick Mahomes II
  • Russell Westbrook
  • Russell Wilson
  • Stephen Curry (II)

Source: Read Full Article